Now What?


now_what

So I am overweight, now what?

Weight for me has been two vastly different stories. For the first half of my life, it was no issue at all. I ate what I wanted with little or no thought given to my daily intake. My sophomore year in college, I went away to school in California. At the time, I was considered underweight. I was at roughly half my highest weight. Very quickly I began to pack on the pounds. But because I was so thin, it was of no concern. As I gained weight, I actually looked better. My childish features faded and my appearance became more masculine.

It was during this period, I first began to notice my weight. I did not have a scale in the dorms, but I could see the change in my appearance and clothing size. For the first time in my life, I took notice with mild concern that I needed to ease up on my food intake. So I ate more salads and cut back on soda.

Walla, problem solved.

Every time I gained a bit too much, I eased back a bit until I was back at my target weight.
But it became a bit more difficult when I got married. I had to add exercise to the regimen. And each time I gained, I lost a bit less. Gain 10, lose 8. And we were off to the races.

When I was about 30, I went on my first real diet. I joined Weight Watchers. And because I was still exercising, the pounds rolled off quickly. But I could never lose those last 10 lbs. I yo-yo’d back and forth. But I was still just overweight. And I was not too concerned.

At age 33, my stress went through the roof, my sleep patterns were radically altered, I stopped working out and I began using food to comfort my unease. In a little over a decade, I packed on an additional 80 pounds. I tried and failed to regain control. I tried cutting back. I tried to exercise. I tried to get more sleep. I tried dieting. I got a surgical Lap Band. And then I just gave up.

I was and am convinced that dieting does not work. Evolution is working against me. The less I eat, the more I crave. The more I lose, the more I gain.

Getting out of this morose required a shock to the system. It happened a little over a month ago. I was having bronchitis and I needed to see my Dr. When the technician weighed me in, I had crossed a threshold. My doctor sat me down and told me that something needed to change.

One comment on “Now What?

Comments encouraged!

