Noteworthy


Seeger

I stumbled onto an old album by Pete Seeger at the Sing-along Sanders Theater. The album covers many traditional and folk songs. As the name would imply, the audience sings along.
One song in particular just released waves of pent up emotion coursing thought my veins. It was “Amazing Grace.” I was at my desk, trying miserably to focus on my work when the track started. He holds out the second note of the song, Amaaaaaaaaaaaa. My eyes welled up with tears and I was on the verge of weeping.

When I hear amazing music, I wish that I could be transformed into that note or phrase. I want the separateness of my being to melt into the whole of universe. It is music that gives me insight into the notion that there is no “I.” There is only we.

2 comments on “Noteworthy

Comments encouraged!

