Entertainment?


I was watching Parenthood the other night.  I love the show, but sometimes hits a little too close to home.

One of the couples has a child with Asperger’s.  They are expecting another child and the scene took place at the OBGYN’s office.  The couple was terrified that their child might be a son, increasing the likelihood that they would have another child with Asperger’s.

My heart skipped a beat.  I remember being tortured by the same dilemma.  It is so hard admitting that you have limits.  Statistically it is unlikely that were I to father another child it would have VACTERL, but there is a higher incidence than that of the general population (.00016% chance).

I love my son.  He is a huge part of my life.  But could I go through it all again?

So needless to say, it was not a relaxing night of television.

Comments encouraged!

