Liturgy


So as I mentioned in my last posting, I have started therapy again.  We have been spending a lot of time discussing my religious upbringing and practices.

I had a bit of an epiphany in my last session.  I was going through my religious history.  I will just outline for brevity here:

  • First religious memories
  • Absolute “Faith” (early years when there was no doubt)
  • Pentecostalism
  • Speaking in Tongues
  • The Uncomfortable Years
  • Biology, Math & Psychology
  • The backslider years
  • Lutheran
  • More backsliding
  • Back to the AG
  • Baptist
  • Methodist
  • Floris
  • Crossroads
  • Agnostic

I spoke almost the whole hour with no breaks.

At the end, we will call him John (because his name is John), said, “it sounds like you really liked liturgical worship.”

Hmmmmm….

Ummm…

Hmmmm…

A wave of nostalgia swept over me.

Hmmm…

Hmmm…

Maybe I am not as agnostic as I pretend to be.

Hmm…

“The word of Ben for the people of Ben.”

4 comments on “Liturgy

  1. Most church worship is liturgical. Pentecostals/baptists just tend not to write it down. But we seldom do the offering before the worship, or the sermon before the offering. We NEVER have the potluck before the service. It’s all liturgy. But I know what you’re saying. You like not being surprised. you like to bask in the Religious experience, and not have the minister suddenly have you turn to the person next to you and pray for him.

    You’re not in a bad place. You’re in a place of discovery.

    B.

  2. Very true. I know from my wife, who is a music director, that very little happens that is not rigidly planned.

    Lets just say I prefer a recipe to an outline. I like old hymns (preferably written before my grandparents were born), responsive readings, formal prayers and limited glossolalia (and by limited, I mean never ever ever…ever).

    …ever

Comments encouraged!

