Throw the Spaghetti on the Wall and See What Sticks


I had lunch with a friend the other day and the subject of blogging came up.  For about a year and a half, I blogged almost daily.  Then quite suddenly, I ran out of things to say.

I have made various attempts to restart my blog.  All have lasted only a day or two.  But here I go again…

…I have no topic.  I am just rambling until something tickles my fancy.

New Life:  This week I got another nephew.  Well technically he has been around for some time, but he made his first external appearance this week.  I am happy for my sister-in-law and her husband.  In many ways I am nostalgic for the days when there was a baby in the house.  But I am 99.9% sure that I am done with repopulating the planet.

Work:  No one understands what it is I do at work, so I am not going to bore you with the details.  But I work with 3 different project managers (PM) representing 7 projects.  I recently started working with a new PM.  He is very organized and regimented, but is rather a bore on the personality front.

Why do I say this?  Let’s just say, I joke and kid…a lot!  There are a couple of people at my work that think I am funny.  Most find me mildly amusing.  And then there are people like my new PM that either have no sense of humor or find my personality irritating (like a gnat circling your ear).

I hate it when I have to work with the non-funnies.  I think joking breaks the tension and gets people to think outside the box.  The non-funnies tend to believe there is an economy of words with a very limited budget.  They tend to be frank and to the point.  I can deal with the non-funnies, but it does cramp my style.

So imagine my surprise when I found out that the new boring PM that never laughs was once a professional comedian!  This little revelation came to me about 330 on Friday.  I was stunned.

As I grow older, I realize more and more that I am a terrible judge of character.  In the last 5 years, I must have heard dozens of startling revelations just like this one.  Old friends reveal a new dimension to their personality and I am left gawking.  Which leads me to the most startling revelation of the past few years:  I don’t know Jack (jack in the generic sense not a specific person).  I am a boxer.  Not the punching variety, but a person who observes small behaviors and categorizes them…put them in a box…for life.  I don’t know why I do this.  It only hurts me.  Categorizing people tends to marginalize the person doing the sorting.

People are so much more complex than my tiny little brain can conceive.

By Ben Posted in Life

Comments encouraged!

