Sorry


Last night Jenn and I were lazing around the house watching “Terminator” reruns.  Ethan came in for the night so we switched off that channel and tried to find something age appropriate.  The Incredibles was on, but Ethan was not interested.  He wanted to watch The Backyardigans.  My brain can only coast in neutral so long so I nixed that idea.

 

We flipped off the idiot box and decided to play a game.  I wanted Boggle, Jenn wanted Scrabble and Ethan wanted Sorry.  So we played Sorry (we are such pushovers).

 

We played on the family room floor.  It was dark out so we had just a couple of lamps on.  Rain from the hurricane remnants was falling on the roof. 

 

I became aware of a warm feeling flowing through my body; the feeling that all is right with the world.  I did not want to be anywhere else.  I did not want to be doing anything else.  I was doing exactly what I should have been doing in that moment.  It was 20 minutes of perfection.

 

I tend to vacillate wildly between boredom and over-stimulation.  I have always been that way.  But for just a few moments, I experience tranquility. 

One comment on “Sorry

Comments encouraged!

