Put on a happy face


 

Jenn told me something last night that almost made me cry.  While she was giving Ethan his enema, he asked if he “tried” real hard could he stop having the enema and catheterizations.  Sadly, I think it is finally dawning on him that his life is not exactly like his friends. 

 

On another front we signed him up for fall baseball.  Like the previous request, he begged us not to sign him up for the disabled league.  While it may bring him more heartache, we could not deny him the opportunity.  I am hoping that his coach and teammates will defer to their nobler instincts. 

 

3 hrs later

 

So I just got back from my eye exam.  Good news, my eyes are quite healthy.  Bad news, I have to wear reading/computer glasses.  I guess since I am now 40 it is time for stuff to start breaking down.  I want Steve Austin’s eyes…with the optional duh duh duh duh sound effect.

 

After the appointment, I went to Robeks for a smoothie.  I love this stuff!  It is like speed without the jitters.  Not that I have taken speed mind you, I lack the commitment required to be a drug addict.

 

We are having dinner with another family tonight.  Two 7 year olds and a 5 year old.  It is like Lord of the Flies except instead of asking for the conk shell they will be pumping me for quarters off me like begging leapers.  If I were in my 20s, I would get hammered to the point that I did not care.  But I am not 20 and I can no longer hold my alcohol.  So I guess I will try to find my chi…cha cha cha chia pet.

 

Say goodnight Gracie.

One comment on “Put on a happy face

  1. Two 7 year olds and a 5 year old. It is like Lord of the Flies except instead of asking for the conk shell they will be pumping me for quarters off me like begging leapers.

    QUIT MAKING ME SQUIRT MILK OUT OF MY NOSE.

Comments encouraged!

