Childs Play


Yesterday I picked my son up from school.  The minute we got out of the car, several of his friends were asking him if he wanted to play.  Of course he did not pass up the opportunity.

 

I went in the house and started doing the dishes.  After a few minutes, the door bangs open and my son and four of his friends came tramping into the house.  They all wanted cookies (I obliged).  Then they went upstairs and played video games together.

 

While the kids were playing they came and went as they pleased.  It was no longer just my family’s house, it was the neighborhood house.  They played happily until dinner time. 

 

Here is the thing I find amazing.  Kids just play together.  Whether they met 5 minutes or 5 years ago, they just strike up a conversation and start playing together.  Boundaries, such as doors, suddenly melt away.

 

Now I am a lucky man.  I am happily married and I have a great kid.  But sometimes I miss simple friendship.  I find making friends as an adult is extremely challenging.  Some days, I wish I could just go out into the yard, find a neighbor, and just hang out for a couple of hours.  It is unthinkable that I would ever just knock on someone’s door cold.  But community requires going out of your way now and again.

 

Maybe our homes really are impenetrable castles.

One comment on “Childs Play

  1. This post resonates with me on so many levels. Community while married with children is one of the toughest challenges for us right now. We have hope every now and again. But I feel your pain and frustration.

    My men’s accountability group actually meets at 10pm on most Thursdays. Our kids are in bed and asleep, and our wives aren’t “stuck” with them for another few hours after an already long day. It’s not ideal as we’re usually exhausted ourselves… but kick back a couple and everyone opens up…

Comments encouraged!

