Deck them in the Mall


We went to my least favorite place in the world during the month of December, the mall. Santa was on a break when we got there, so we did other shopping. Then I stood in line for an hour and a half so Ethan could beg from Jolly ole’ St. Nick. The same Santa has worked at our mall since he was born, so that is one less awkward explanation we have to make. Ethan made reasonable requests, so I think the fat man will come through in the end. And by fat man, I of course mean me.

In other news, Jenn did not get the choir director job at our church. It was not a pleasant experience. Things were said. People were hurt. But we are moving on. Enough said.

In other news, our contract on a new-ish house was accepted. So we will be moving to beautiful downtown Ashburn at the end of January. The new house has a porch overlooking the park across the street. So that is kind of cool.

I have been feeling old of late. Not in the body breaking down sense, but in the wow the world is being run by 20 somethings. I don’t know why 40 is such a sobering age. 30 was no big deal for me. I guess the knowledge that life causes me to pause. I have not made much of an impact with the first half. If I want to improve the world I inhabit, I better get with it. In a blink the second half will be over and I will be ground cover.

Tonight is family movie night. We are watching Flubber. I am getting to watch all of the G movies I avoided the last 20 years. I have not missed much.

Onward and upward.

By Ben Posted in Life

Comments encouraged!

