Unqualified


I have dreaded what happened yesterday. I knew it was coming. I just hoped it wouldn’t.

Ethan was teased by one of the boys in his class for wearing diapers. Jenn and I are trying a new strategy for controlling his urinary incontinence, but the damage is already done. I am just not sure how to deal with this. The fact of the matter is kids are going to notice that Ethan is different. If it is not the incontinence, it will be the orthopedic shoes, or his short stature. I want to go postal on the school and the little boys parents. But that is just a gut reaction. The school can’t protect him and neither can I.

Jenn and I have worked very hard to make sure that Ethan has a healthy self esteem. Hopefully that will help him deal with teasing. I am just afraid of him becoming the “target” at school.

There is a side of me that thinks we should home school him and another side that thinks he is going to have to learn to suck it up. I wish there was an easy answer. But like so many things in life, there are multiple choices all with their own consequences.

Sometimes I feel completely unqualified to be a parent. Thank God for dumb luck.

By Ben Posted in Life

Comments encouraged!

