IEP


We attended Ethan’s IEP meeting today.  Ethan went to public preschool this year, but will attend a different public school next year.

 

IEP for those of you unfamiliar with the term is Individualized Education Plan.  Basically it is a report/plan for dealing with a student’s mental of physical disabilities.  We had to attend one a couple of months ago at his current school.  It did not go well.  Let’s leave it at that.

 

But today?  What a difference in schools.  This place immediately put us at ease.  They had a solid plan for dealing with Ethan’s individual issues, but they did not go looking for problems where they did not exist.  The whole staff was friendly and unlike his current school, it is apparent that they like working with each other.

 

Jenn and I walked out of the school and we gave each other a knowing glance.  This coming year is going to be a great year.  I am so grateful that he is moving. 

 

I am sure these folks had no clue about our previous IEP meetings, but their professionalism made our day.  Little things can make such a huge impact in people’s lives.  It really made me think about the wake I leave in my path.  I know that on occasion I am short with others, even borderline rude.  I guess I need to remember that basic civility does make a huge difference.

By Ben Posted in Life

4 comments on “IEP

  1. Agreed.

    The staff can make an IEP an abominable, grueling experience. Or they can put you at ease and give you at least the *appearance* that they care for your child for an hour.

    Daniel’s IEP for next year is tomorrow. It will be a whole new team–he’s gonna be in 6th grade, and Scotts Valley ships them all to Middle School. Dan will take it in stride, I guess (this is the first one he’ll be attending), and Judi and I are hoping for the best. So far, our IEP concerns have been met and the tone of the meetings mostly positive.

    Here’s a prayer for Ethan’s surgery tomorrow, by the way. Keep us updated via Blackberry.

    BJC

  2. We had this year’s IEP two weeks ago with warm, caring, professional educators. We feel fortunate to live in a community with great schools. I hope your next school experience will be a good one.

  3. Zac had a rotten kindergarten teacher. She didn’t seem to like boys. She managed to drum one of the 6 in the class out of the school entirely. That was one of the reasons we decided to homeschool this year. Very few teacher complaints this year :).

  4. People make all the difference…good or bad! Your son sounds stinking smart…so my thought would be they only have to make sure he doesn’t so surpass the other kids during the time he IS in school that they have to let him skip grades! All joking aside, though, I’m glad this year looks more hopeful! I can’t believe they could have already made you feel badly when he hadn’t even gotten to Kindergarten yet! Although I guess Ben’s Kindergarten teacher made him out to be a burgeoning criminal if he continued on his current path of destruction! Needless to say, even though she is moving on to teach 1st grade this year (and keeping her entire Kindergarten class!) Ben WILL have a new teacher this year. Today, being the last day of school, he says as he walks out, “Whew…I’m glad that’s over! I HATE school! Next year could be better though!”

    Yikes!

Comments encouraged!

