The Great Robbery


Kevin and I used to have a long walk to school. It was 10 miles, uphill both ways. OK, maybe it was somewhat less than that, a mile and a half or so. Anyway it took a good 30 minutes to get to school. Day after day we walked for two years before he went to High School. And for one of those years, we were in the same band class and sat right next to each other.

So on average we spent at least two hours together every day. And that does not even count if we hung out after school, which was quite often. Most days we hung out at his house for at least another half hour after we got home. After we exhausted every conceivable topic of conversation, we planned a bank robbery. Just silly kids stuff.

Where does the time go? That was over 25 years ago. Jr. High is such an awful time for most people. But I actually thought it was pretty great.

Now days if I spend two hours with a friend in a month, I count myself lucky. My days are filled with statistics, budgets, test plans and schedules. Simple friendship seems like a luxury. Why did I ever want to grow up?

By Ben Posted in Life

3 comments on “The Great Robbery

  1. That cracks me up, I was driving past that bank the other day on my way to Mom’s house, and it all came back to me. What a great time. I think we could have pulled it off. We were just too uptight.
    My first year in junior high pretty much sucked.
    And then eigth grade and you came along. It turned my time around. The last two years of Junior high was great, definitely one of the best times of my life. I still laugh about things that happened then.
    I agree though, I see my kids so anxious to grow up, I keep telling them, live a little, enjoy where you are. I’m glad that I got to. Thanks Ben! You’ll always be my best friend.

  2. Ben, you didn’t want to grow up. You wanted to stay young in the Peter Pan sense, perhaps with the helpful addition of driving and alcohol (though not those two at the same time). And it’s great when your car insurance rate goes down at about age 25. Otherwise, I concur–being an adult is overrated. Sure I can do anything I want, but cash flow and rudimentary ethics do not permit most of the things I want, and the sustained nagging about responsibility and duty drives me up the wall. (The difference from junior high? Now the nagging voices are inside my head and they sound more like Darth Vader and the Emperor rather than my parents.)

Comments encouraged!

