Going to Sleep


Well, I am going to bed now.  I used to suffer from insomnia.  Now, I just can’t sleep.  I no longer suffer.  Why, because I am not bored or obsessed with some stupid nuance of the day.  Now I work in bed.  No, I am not a prostitute.  Get your mind out of the gutter.  I am writing a book.  Well not exactly.  I haven’t actually put anything to paper.  But I am outlining a book in my head.  It has sort of become a hobby, a bedtime hobby.  I repeat, I am not a prostitute. 

Now I have no delusions of grandeur.  I never think I will publish a book.  I just like the idea that I could write one if I needed to.  Like if a terrorist held a gun to my head and said, “Write a book or I’ll shoot.”  That kind of scenario might sound scary to some, but I am prepared.  I could do it.  I just hope they never say write a good book, cause I am not that cleaver.  But anyone who can read can write a *bad* novel.  And I am anyone to someone. 

So I am writing a novel, science fiction to be exact.  I don’t want to give away the plot, but let’s just say Pentecostals could really come in handy in a first contact situation (especially if no one invents the universal translator, which they haven’t).

So I am going to bed.  Hopefully I will have trouble falling asleep.  I have a lot of work to do. 

Shundama-Ky!  That means we come in peace. (GET YOUR MIND OUT OF THE GUTTER)

By Ben Posted in Life

3 comments on “Going to Sleep

  1. I’d really like to read a novel written by you. I think it could be a life changing experience, and would only require say a year or so of counseling to recover from!

  2. If an episode of Walker: Texas Ranger has ever changed your life, you might be a redneck.

    Give it a shot, you never know. Proofreaders editors, etc. can help a lot. You never know till you try. Besides this is something that will live beyond you, even if only among the family heirlooms. I think you have and interesting “voice.” I’d read it, if it was less than 400 pages with large print and lots of pictures. d:c)

    OK, I admit it, I’ve had a margarita tonight. Shhh, don’t tell anyone.

  3. A team of proofreaders and editors working round the clock could help me write a passable book.

    But a team of psychiatrists and psychologist might make me normal.

    Choices…choices.

Comments encouraged!

