Go with your gut


Go with your gut! Great conventional wisdom, eh?

I was reading Luke’s version of Jesus’ arrest this morning (it being Maundy Thursday and all (I know scary)). Luke’s account of the arrest has Jesus healing the ear of the guy that Peter chopped off.

It occurs to me that one group went with their gut and that was wrong. They other group went against their gut and that was wrong too.

Peter I think went with his gut. “Coming for Jesus??? You’ll have to come through me first.” It could have gotten nasty if Jesus had not defused the situation.

The soldiers on the other hand, appear to have gone against their gut instinct. I mean, if we believe Luke’s account, a guy had his EAR cut off and it was healed right in front of their eyes. If I were in their shoes, I would be scared “poopless”. If this guy can just fix an ear, what else is he capable of?? Run Away!!!

But, no, they carry out their orders.

All of this to say there are no easy answers. I wish there was a rule of thumb for when to act on instinct and when to hold your ground, but if there is one I have not found it. I think this is why prayer is becoming more important to me. If I do not reflect on the days events with God, I am just going to keep repeating the same dumb mistakes. It is funny to me now, that for awhile, I really thought I was in control of my life. The older I get, the more I realize that I am totally dependant on grace. Hopefully, slowly but surely God is helping me to bang away at my rough edges. Unfortunately, there appears to be no shortage of rough edges.

By Ben Posted in Life

11 comments on “Go with your gut

  1. Intuition is my favorite. I tend to let logic by the wayside if something just “feels” wrong. But that’s just me.

    The interesting thing about Jesus’ disciples’ dilemma is His path not only logically seemed wrong, but it *also* felt wrong. Yet it was the right path. 2 strikes against an idea and I’d probably have hacked off an ear as the better option as well–especially if you had a pretty good idea that the Messiah could just glue it back on anyhow.

    BJC

  2. I love how God always seems to go the direction my wisdom (what little there is)or my gut (now that is big) says I should. The older I have gotten the more I have seen “I have used the foolish things to confound the wise” seem to play out.

    The only thing that seems for sure sometimes is that cobbler is the best.

  3. Oh, Maundy
    Well you came and you gave without taking…

    Put the li maundy coconut
    You drink’em all up…

    Heard from a captain of a sinking Jamaican ship — “Maundy lifeboats!”

    Recognizing our rough edges is too difficult for us much of the time. You are probably ahead of most. Good exegesis on gut feelings. Peter is known for acting first and asking questions later. Our dim light of reason can also lead us astray. We can also have difficulty discerning spirits. The world is truly fallen.

  4. The way I am built I always follow my gut. Unless I am walking backwards.
    My problem is God is banging away at my rough edges while I seem to keep creating new ones!

  5. I say, go with the gut. I’d rather be Peter and serve despite my misunderstandings than willfully ignore the Son of God. By the way, I love that story. Of all the versions it’s the best.

  6. DOH!

    I wrote:
    “I love how God always seems to go the direction my wisdom (what little there is)or my gut (now that is big) says I should. The older I have gotten the more I have seen “I have used the foolish things to confound the wise” seem to play out.”

    I meant to say that God’s seems to go the other direction from what my limited wisdom or enormous gut say I should. What I wrote sounds like I actually wrote sounds like I should be doing the “superior dance.” Sorry about that.

  7. Don’t believe Tim… I was actually with him this evening, and he did indeed do a “superior dance”. He’s just feeling sorry now and acting all humble. 🙂
    j/k
    jac:

Comments encouraged!

