Addicted


Over the weekend, one of our friends volunteered to watch Ethan for a couple of hours. It was nice to get away for a couple of hours with Jenn. We had lunch at a local Greek restaurant and went shopping. We bought new and interesting toys for Ethan’s upcoming hospital stay. He has really wanted a new Baby Einstein video, so we bought that along with a bunch of other stuff.

Now over this last Christmas, I got a Best Buy certificate and I used it to buy a Game Boy. Up to this point, I have not been all that interested in it. Then while shopping for Ethan, I suggested to Jenn we get a game to distract us during the long waits (Hospital stays tend to be hour and hours of boredom punctuated with moments of dread.). So I bought a Super Mario game.

I test drove it this weekend. I forgot how addicting that little plumber is. I think a truck could hit the house and it would go mostly unnoticed if I were playing Mario. Jenn resisted the urge, much to her credit. She is as addicted to Mario as I am. When we were dating we said that we could not get married before we rescued the princess on Mario. Luckily, we succeeded. But that princess just seems to continue to get into trouble.

I am thankful for life’s little distractions.

By Ben Posted in Life

One comment on “Addicted

  1. Paper Mario (the Thousand Year Door) is the Nintendo game that captured my attention most. I’ve spent several hours saving Princess Peach from the evil Koopa King. It’s not a bad way to spend an afternoon. Both my kids are dedicated enough to the GameCube to have actually beaten the game. I guess I don’t want to invest that kind of energy when I could be playing Runescape or World of Warcraft.

    Good luck with that addiction. No fighting over the controller–remember a family who shares together dies with all the toys…. Wait….

    BJC

Comments encouraged!

