The Daily Double


Sometimes I can goes for days without anything ironic happening.  Today was not one of those days.  Today I got a second helping.  Luckily both examples were funny irony not the tragic “your wife is really your sister” kind.

 

Example 1:  My work friend Sonia comes into my office and complains about people interrupting her during work.  This conversation goes on for the better part of an hour.

 

Example 2:  My wife’s best friend is the local uber-leader of M.O.P.S.  In addition to her weekly emails, she feels a compulsion to forward every safety recall on baby/child toys, furniture, and junk.  These are always tragic warnings about strollers eating toddlers or cribs spontaneously bursting into flames.  She sees it as her God given responsibility to save us all from engineering incompetence that will doubtless kill our children.

 

Anyways for Christmas, she gives my son a “stocking stuffer”.  It is a Dollar Store toy airplane.  Within hours, Ethan has turned the toy into a pile of rubble.   Last night when I was turning off all of the lights, I stepped on a piece of the fuselage.  It cut my foot bad enough to bleed.

A whining blog for the people of blog.
Thanks be to blog.
Amen
By Ben Posted in Life

3 comments on “The Daily Double

  1. Yeah, I don’t think it counts if adults are capable of hurting themselves on the toys, just if the kids can. With your soft, fleshy, thin-skinned feet, you would probably cut yourself on a raquetball. Merry Christmas.

  2. I don’t know if I found out your wife is really your sister, I think I would find it rather humorous.
    There is a new invention out there, called shoes, not many people wear them (at least at my house), but they do tend to protect “your soft, fleshy, thin-skinned feet” (There is something strangely disturbing about that description, you know?)

  3. Okay, now I have the image of Ben’s “soft, fleshy, thin skinned feet” stuck in my head! This is not a good thing.

Comments encouraged!

