\"Like taking candy…\"


Halloween is my favorite time of year.  Time for the big candy grab.  Jenn and I both dress up in all black and wear black face paint.  Traditionally we hide in the bushes and when the kids come up to our door, Jenn shouts at them while I grab their bags.  Occasionally a kid will try to fight back, but I just turn the hose on them.

This year was special because it was Ethan’s first year to steal candy.  We dressed him up in the cutest costume and have him stand on the corner crying.  When some unsuspecting kid comes up to help him, Jenn and I grab their bags and take off running.  This works especially well with Jr. High girls.

The highlight of the evening was when we discovered that some parents were parking their cars at the end of the block and walking with their kids.  We literally just had to hop in and drive away.

The nights haul:  200 lbs of candy, an Explorer, an Astro Van, and 2 old station wagons.

All in all, it was a wonderful Halloween.

By Ben Posted in Life

13 comments on “\"Like taking candy…\"

  1. When Ben headed off to college, he chose to study psychology. My grandmother, upon hearing this, said “You know, I can’t see myself going to Ben for that. …. I could see him coming to me though.”

  2. In seventh grade Kevin and I went tricker treating for the last time. It was the end of the night and I had almost a whole pillow case full of candy. Then some High School kid stole my bag.

    We ended up going to the Jolly Rancher factory. They ususally give kids a treat bag. I got about 20 bags.

  3. Nah. Not sure what we would have done if we did. Probably get our butts kicked.
    Apparently Ben never recovered. Hmmm maybe I’ll blog on my own Halloween angst. Ben was a part of that too.
    Like I said once, Ben we gotta dump each other, we’ve known each other too long!

Comments encouraged!

