Oh my aching head


Last night Ethan had a nightmare.  He woke up with his pajamas soaked with sweat.  For a time, he was inconsolable.  I still don’t know exactly what the dream was about.  He was not in much of a sharing mood.

I have always been fascinated by dreams, both my own and others.  After college I would dictate the summaries of my dreams into a tape recorder, some pretty bizarre stuff.  40% of what I recorded was incoherent babbling.  I wasn’t always fully awake when I recorded my thoughts.

Anyway…Starting when I was about Ethan’s age, I have had two reoccurring dreams.  The last time I had one of them was two or three years ago, but I am sure I am not done with these dreams.  So here they are:

#1 I am walking in open prairie.  The sky has a couple of wispy clouds but mostly clear.  It is a cool day.  I am not wearing a jacket, but I have goose bumps.  I walk up an embankment and there are train tracks running into the distance.  I notice instantly there is a man tied down to the tracks.

I run up to the man to offer assistance and start untying the knots holding him to the tracks.  Of course in true melodrama form, a train starts coming.  I frantically try to free the man who I now recognize as Jesus (beard, robe, sandals).  The train barrels down on us and it is clear that I am not going to be able to free him in time.  Jesus says that he is very disappointed in me.  The train runs him over and I wake up.

#2 I am in my childhood neighborhood.  It is extremely hot.  My friend Jeff Farris and me are playing wiffle ball in a neighbors yard.   Jeff hits the ball across the street into the gutter, just by the sewer drain.  I run across the street and nearly get run over.  I grab the ball and turn to cross the street again.

Just as I am about to cross, a hand grabs my ankle from below.  It is the Devil in the sewer.  He is the stereotypical devil, red with horns, a tail, and a pitchfork.  He is holding chains and handcuffs in his other hand.  He jerks me so hard, that I loose my footing and hit the ground on my chin.  He starts dragging me into the sewer and I wake up.

Happy Saturday!

By Ben Posted in Life

7 comments on “Oh my aching head

  1. But why bother, now that you can use Ronco’s amazing new kitchen tool, the Super Church-o-Matic ’76. Yes, Church-lovers, the days of troublesome standing, praising and raising your hands are over, because Super Church-o-Matic ’76 is the tool that lets you use the church with no church waste, and without standing, praising or raising your hands.

    Here’s how it works: go go church, remove the pastor, and drop the choir – that’s the whole choir – into the Super Church-o-Matic ’76. Now, adjust the control dial so that the church is blended just the way you like it. Yes, it’s just that simple!

    Nevermind.

  2. My recurring dream theme (not identical dreams, but along the same line) is that I am being chased by a tornado. I’ve had that one probably 25 or 30 times over the years and usually wake up gasping in fear. Happy Tuesday!

  3. The only recurring dream I ever had was the one where you are about to take a test and you realize you never studied or attended class blah blah blah. Had it for two years after college and haven’t had it since (maybe 5 times?). I feel so left out.
    Why doesn’t anybody have a recurring dream about being rich and having wonderful life?

  4. I guess I am pretty boring the only reocurring dream I have had was the classic falling one…but I haven’t had it for many, many years.

Comments encouraged!

