Random Thoughts on God, part ii


I don’t know if I have mentioned it before, but I have joined this new Bible study at church.  The study basically goes through the entire Bible over the course of the school year.

This week’s reading was from Genesis and the whole calling of Abraham.  One verse in particular jumped out at me when I was doing the reading.

Genesis 12:3

I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.\”

While I was reading the second part of the verse, it occurred to me that I have heard this before in another setting.

As an aside, for most of my life (with the possible exception of the “blue dress” days), I have been a fairly liberal democrat.  This always made me a fairly popular target when I attended a very conservative college.  Given my extremely limited skills at debate, it was a long 4 years.  Anyway, one thing in particular drove me nutty when I lived in the realm of the right-wing.  It was the notion that God was a republican.  It was always my thought that God could not care less about our politics and if he did, the liberal agenda was far more “loving” than the conservative.

Then I read the second half of this verse again, “and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”  So God’s plan was to bless Israel and through them the rest of the world would benefit.  I have heard this before…but where?

Then it struck me.  NOOOOOOOOOOOO.  Trickle down economics!  This is Reagonomics (cut taxes for the rich and they will invest in the rest of the world).  There it was in black and white, irrefutable evidence that God and Reagan were both fiscal conservatives.  God was in fact a republican.

Least you through yourself off a building, which was my original reaction, keep in mind that this all ended with Israel being divided and conquered.  So at least I have that going for me.

more in weeks to come

By Ben Posted in Life

8 comments on “Random Thoughts on God, part ii

  1. Notable difference in Abraham’s blessing and Reaganomics:
    God’s plan worked: since Jesus was a descendant of Abraham, all people were blessed. I’ve yet to be convinced that the rich getting richer by way of tax cuts is blessing anyone but the rich.

  2. What would Supply-Side Jesus Do?

    In the Sermon on the Mount, which describes Jesus’ ideas regarding blessings, he most notably did NOT equate being blessed with being rich. You can be all sorts of blessed without trickledown working in your life.

    Too much coffee. I gotta trickle myself now.

    BJC

  3. If anybody ever called me a Glory Giver, I’d have to kick their ass. It’s as bad as Ross’s turkey sandwich from Friends , the one with the extra piece of gravy soaked bread called the “moist-maker.”

    And no, you can’t call me a “moist-maker” either. Same consequences.

    BJC

  4. When I first saw this I thought you gonna say Ronald Reagan is God, or at least looks like Him.

    what about moist-giver?

Comments encouraged!

